©Emily Tabet - Artist and creator of my logo

About Me

Ciao People.

My name is Mattia Capasso, I am Italian, living and working in London.

I am a freelance Production Assistant/Runner working in every aspect of visual video (Film, TV, commercial, corporate video, etc.).

I have a creative and well-tempered mind and good improvisation skills.

I am willing to undertake any task, putting all my energy in the role.

With a good understanding of the production process and set etiquette, I work well with other crew members and I have great communication skills.

Besides my main PA/Runner position, I also work part-time as Digital Projectionist at Pinewood Studios.

Plus, I have qualified as a Commercial Drone Operator and I own a DJI Sparks Drone, therefore I’m still developing my operational drone skills.

I had previous experiences working in customer service, orgainsing events and meeting and volunteering in various film festivals.

Skills

  • Full clean UK driving licence.
  • Fluent Italian and basic Spanish.
  • Cash handling
  • Crowd control.
  • British Red Cross First Aid (until December 2020).
  • Experienced scuba diver.
  • Drone owner: DJI Spark.
  • PfCO Drone Licence.
  • Basic Adobe: Photoshop and Premier Pro.
  • Basic DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) Certificate

Main Jobs

Freelance Production Assistant

Duties:

  • Driving van or bus to transport crew, cast and equipment to location
  • Assisting the directors with daily tasks
  • Serving drinks, snacks and organizing lunch or dinner
  • Managing budget for extra equipment or catering
  • Assisting the art department when needed
  • Loading props or equipment to location
  • Working in a busy production: managing crew, answering phones

Other Jobs

Position: Freelance Digital Projectionist
Duties:
  • Ingesting DCPs (Digital Cinema Package) and KDMs onto the servers
  • Setting up AV for presentations
  • Assisting in Dailies screenings
  • Creating player lists for weekend cinema
  • Reporting bookings for each cinema screening using the database programme Veezi
  • Deliver a high standard of customer service and dealing with any enquiries customers may have
Position: SUA (Small Unmanned Aircraft) Pilot / Drone Pilot

Duties:

  • Aerial shooting taken from right angles and make sure to have nice frames 
  • Make sure the location area is suitable for operation
  • Avoid incidends by keeping safe distance from people, building or veichle
  • Be sure that my SUA (small unmaned aircraft) is functioning and take care about it
  • Dealing with Air laws and zone restrictions
  • Managing crowds by marking fences for security
  • Make sure the area surrounded is safe and ready to fly

Previous Jobs

Pret A Manger

Position: Team Member

Duties:

  • Dealing with customers queries and complaints.
  • Restocking and organizing product.
  • Assisting tourists with directions.

Crussh Juice Bar

Position: Assistant Manager

Duties:

  • Managing orders, deliveries,
    shift/rota and stocking.
  • Serving healthy meals and
    recommending drinks to
    customers.
  • Cash handling, making sure the till
    is cashed up correctly at the end of a day.

Coffee Republic

Position: Barista

Duties:

  • Serving and making coffee.
  • Serving breakfast/lunch.
  • Cleaning the area and
    equipment.

Crewsaders

Position: Crew Member
Duties:
  • Setting and dismantling stage for events, festival or concerts
  • Loading equipment from vehicle to locations and vice versa
  • Assemble audio screen and projector
  • Setting up PA (public address) systems and lighting
  • Lifting and organising box trolley 

Interests & Hobbies

    (To read more click on the + symbol)

Of course I love films, or I would not be working in production.

There are many, and honestly is kind hard telling you what are my favourites. Plus, I do not have any sort of preference when is about Genre, I can watch because their plot or because is entertaining, I can love an Author film or a Cinecomic.

So just to give you an idea, here is some example of particular films I like so much that I haven’t mind to watch more than one time:

      

Of course there are many, many others!

As well as films, there are too many to mention. 

I use to watch more Sit-com or Comedy-Drama, whatever is live action or animated.

Here is a list of some series I like:

 

I like both reading Manga and waching Anime when there’s an adaptations or when is original.

Here is a list of some of my favourite:

I love mostly the actions and the RPG, I am a big fan of the Final Fantasy games. Not into sports kind, but I am happy to play in company.

Here is a list of some of my favourites :

(note: I list those games based on the saga I like rather than the single one)

   

I am mostly into Hard Rock, Punk Rock, Metal and Nu Metal. I love to listen to groups both in English, Italian and Japanese.

Here is a list of some of my favourite groups:

Not always playing and I am not the best in majority of them, but I love them, especially when I am with friends or groups.

Here is a list of some of the board game I played more often:

 

I like mountain bikes,  however, I am not a big or professional rider.

Here is few pictures of me riding:

             

I love to taste everything from all part of the world.

Currently I am trying to follow a vegetarian diet, however I still have few moment where I eat meat.

I list some pictures just to give an idea of my kind of food:

Of course I love the ITALIAN one

And the JAPANSE one

TAPAS

And much more.

Plans for future

I want to be involved in more film productions and get more credits in order to increase my Production Assistant skills.

Be more invoved in set and get the experience on being a good Assistant Director.

I’ve also written few short script that I would like to develop and with the right practice be a good director too.